Complete Story


Rob Eshenbaugh to Lead OLA in 2018


 Columbus, OH – The Ohio Lobbying Association welcomed over 120 members for its annual business meeting on February 28th and announced its Board of Directors for 2018. The meeting was held at the Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square in conjunction with its Legislative Reception.

Outgoing President Jeff DeLeone presided over the meeting, celebrating the successes of the organization over the past year before turning the gavel over to incoming President Rob Eshenbaugh of Capitol Advocates. The 2018 Board includes:

  • Immediate Past President - Jeff DeLeone, Jeff DeLeone & Associates
  • President - Rob Eshenbaugh, Capitol Advocates
  • President-Elect – Jessica Mead, CareSource
  • Vice-President – Amanda Sines, Government Advantage Group
  • Secretary /Treasurer – Miranda Motter, Ohio Association of Health Plans
  • At-Large Member – Bridget McAuliffe, Barnes & Thornburg, LLP
  • At-Large Member – Josh Sanders, Calfee, Halter & Griswold, LLP
  • At-Large Member – Tony Brigano – Hicks Partners

Rob Eshenbaugh“I am honored to accept the role as President of the OLA and I look forward to representing my friends and colleagues in and around the Statehouse during what could be a challenging year in Ohio politics,” Eshenbaugh said during his comments at the Annual Meeting.

Jeff DeLeone presented the Darryl “Doc” Dever President’s Award to Sheila Fox, who serves as the Managing Director of the Association and the Executive Director of the OLA Foundation. The President’s Award is given at the discretion of the OLA President to an individual who has significantly contributed to the success of the Association.

Sheila Fox Presidents Award“Sheila was an obvious choice to receive this year’s President’s Award.  Her experience and organizational skills helped transition the OLA’s operations to a new level in a very short period of time.  She was vital in updating of our financial reporting process, the use of technology to improve member services and communications, and was vital to our efforts to help organize and launch the Ohio Lobbying Association Foundation,” DeLeone remarked. Fox began her role with the OLA in August of 2016.

The membership also recognized and thanked Mike Carroll of the University of Cincinnati for his service to the association as he completed his eight-year term on the Board. He served as Immediate Past President in 2017.

Three members were also recognized for their recent or upcoming retirement:

  • Damon Asbury, Ohio School Boards Association
  • Brad Cole, County Commissioners Association of Ohio
  • Jon Wills, Ohio Osteopathic Association

Additionally, the membership remembered Lee Barrett of Duke Energy, Donn Ellerbrockof Associated General Contractors,  and Phil Craig of The Craig Group, who died in the last year.

About the Ohio Lobbying Association

Established in 1989, the OLA is proud of the lobbying profession and continues its mission of effective communication and public education programs designed to promote both the public interest and the interest of the Association. Our diverse membership continues to be some of the leading sources of information in Ohio on a wide variety of issues. As our members perform the important role in the public policy process, the OLA encourages them to do so with the strongest of ethical principles while valuing the highest standards of honesty and integrity in their contact with the General Assembly, the public, the press and with each other. 

The OLA and its members strive to maintain a standard of excellence and to serve as a worthwhile source of information that will always be productive, straightforward and professional. Learn more at Follow the OLA on Twitter @ohiolobby.

Printer-Friendly Version